Convergence Overload

22 Oct

Just last year I could barely define convergence journalism, and every time I asked someone to explain this particular sequence in detail, I grasped only a partial understanding of its meaning. One could easily say that by the end of my freshman year in college, I managed to create my very own, underdeveloped definition of convergence. Convergence Journalism: an emphasis area which one could apply in virtually every other aspect of journalism.

I am not sure that honestly counts as a definition, but I definitely missed the bulls-eye.

Now, as a student enrolled in a multi-media journalism class and envolved with an online news publication, I feel somewhat embarrassed about my misunderstanding of the emphasis area. Journalism 2150 quickly immersed me into the world of convergence, and it is quickly taking over my life.

Our weekly projects help to give us a real world, hands-on experience in developing news stories by using various modes of media. Furthermore, my involvement in the BLACKout gives me the opportunity to apply some of the skills I am honing in on throughout the course.

This week I am responsible for writing a feature story on Homecoming Queen Kam Phillips, creating a TV-news style video of the Show-Me Opera Ensemble, and developing a multi-media piece highlighting up and coming rapper Kreayshawn.

Minus the time crunch coupled with tight deadlines, I am enjoying the experience, especially since I now understand that convergence is simply multi-media journalism. Everyday, I am reassured that convergence is the way to go despite my current convergence overload.

Leave a comment